April Poetry Fundraiser

Day 16

Easter Wishstick
by Mandy Berry

Mom handed me the vegan jerky.
“Use them like a wishbone,” she said.
“Pull them apart.”
I took the package to my room,
wondering just what
to wish for.
What would cure me,
fix my worldview,
heal me and my parents’ relationship?
What could I wish for?
And why did I think
two strips of vegan jerky
would help?

I tore open the package
and the wishstick fell apart
in my hands.

****

Tomb
by S.A. Bowden

Now the green blade rises, they say
Alleluia and lilies and candles
Promises of mercy and new hearts
My broken heart looks up, hearing this
I hold it in my hands
Standing in the dark tomb
Just outside the reach of the new light
Hesitating
I had let Easter fill in the cracks and holes inside of me in the moment
But now I’m not so persuaded
I need to take care of myself

Do I come into the light and pretend the dark is not there, ready to overpower me again?
Do I accept a new heart that I know all too well can be broken just as easily?

****

Untitled 
by Sam Yoseph

  1. I want to be loved.
    I want to feel safe and sound
    Absolutely unconditionally,
    Even though it may be profound.

    I want to meet someone,
    And not with a purpose in mind
    Other than to make a new friend
    And be as impossibly kind.

    I want to feel unstoppable.
    Someone pushing me to my dream,
    And forcing me to believe it myself.
    I want to be and feel seen.

    2.

    I want to travel the world.
    I want to see Spain and France
    And Germany and Russia
    And Japan and just dance.

    I want to meet the culture,
    And get to know the people
    I’ve lived a lifetime on earth with
    and begin to write my sequel.

    I want to create something great.
    Make an impact on this tiny planet,
    And just take a train or boat.
    I want to begin my journey in transit.

    3.

    I want to go to space.
    I want to feel the stars
    At the grasp of my hand,
    But I know it’s awfully far.

    I want to meet aliens,
    and discover new species,
    But also remember
    The sweet taste of home in lychee.

    I want to colonize a planet.
    Make something completely new,
    And unforgettable.
    I want a fresh start too.

Leave a Reply

