April Poetry Fundraiser

Day 26

The Table
by S.A. Bowden

To my fellow seniors

“I don’t see what Trinity brings to the table.”
Mom and Dad both said this to me
Sitting on either side of me on the sofa
The cluttered coffee table in front of us
As we finally got around to discussing colleges

I didn’t know what to say
They were kind of right maybe
I couldn’t say Trinity has
Hopkins’s big name
Or Washington’s writing house
Or Georgetown’s Catholic presence

I didn’t tell them the only answer I had
It brings itself to the table.
That’s a lot.

I wish I could bring myself to the table like that
Emulate some confidence in myself without any safety nets or
Any need for justification for myself

Leave a Reply

